All Lies

Yes, it was all lies.

Not intentionally, mark you. I did my best last month, I really did. I had all the best intentions, I laid my plans, I planned my month … But in the end life just got away from me.

I started a new job in the Deaf Support Centre of a secondary school (11-18) in London two weeks ago, and prior to that I was struggling with other commitments. All of which meant I have not written a word in about a month.

To be honest I was losing my way a bit with The Golem. I may leave it for a bit and work on the other elements for a while. Why I lost my way — I have a sneaking suspicion that it could have been something to do with the environment I was working in at the time: a grubby university building in a part of London I don’t really like. Maybe it’s just excuses but I really felt my creativity ebbing away there for a while.

My best place for writing, I’ve realised, is the train line from St. Pancras International to Denmark Hill. Or the journey from Finsbury Park underground station, via Victoria, to Denmark Hill. There’s something about train journeys that inspires me, I guess.

Anyway. I may not be writing for some time as my free hours have been reduced somewhat. I’ll see what I can do, but I don’t have a great feeling about it.

Roll on Christmas, that’s all I’ll say!

Enjoy yourselves,

Ed.

2 thoughts on “All Lies

Add yours

  1. I know, sort of, the feeling, I’ve had to put my work on hold until after the holidays despite having made plans to the contrary it just seemed like every time I tried to sit down and write something just didn’t feel right. Best of luck in the future though and I hope for the best for you.

    Also a side note, having a brother that’s deaf myself, good luck with the new work in the support center 🙂

  2. I think a train would be a lovely place to write, only we don’t have many trains in Vegas. Still glad to see you back, and I do hope you can get a bit more writing done soon, I can’t imagine going a whole month, I think I’d go crazy. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

