NaNoWriMo: Limbering Up

So NaNoWriMo is almost upon us. I can feel the ground quaking as the skies darken and the air crackles with electric energy. Tiny filaments of lightning writhe about my poised fingertips as I sit before my laptop and wait for the stroke of midnight on October the 31st …

Ah … I’ll do better than that in the actual month itself, I promise. But all joking aside, this’ll be my first year. I’ve already let you chickadees know that I’ll be aiming for a more modest 30,000 this year, in order to get the next part of Coals of Fire out of my head and into the real world.

With this in mind, I’ve decided to add a month to my earlier schedule for getting Coals of Fire: Ash into the public domain. I was supposed to get the manuscript out of the (albeit virtual) drawer on the 31st for review and edits, but I’m going to leave it there through November and do nothing but write Kindling.

I’m well on the way with The Golem; The House on the Hill is still just two pages and a rough idea; and I’ve decided what I’m going to do with part three, which will be the story of the woman in the ambulance in the prologue to Ash, the same woman who shoots Colin’s attacker and kidnaps him in the last chapter. Her name (I believe) is Sahira, and I’m pretty sure she started her adult life as a meteorologist/climatologist conducting research into global warming before … But that would be giving it away.

So with NaNoWriMo in mind, I’m going to spend the rest of October planning and then do nothing but write Kindling and post my NaNoWriMo news throughout November. Or not, if I get bored. But I’ll definitely be writing a lot.

Here are some links to some articles by people I follow, about their own NaNoWriMo plans and experiences. I found them interesting and enjoyable, and I hope you do too:

General Progress – Peter Germany’s Blog
How Fast (or Slowly) Should You Write? – A Writer’s Journey
NaNoWriMo: I’m Only Going To Say This Once, Okay? – Catherine, Caffeinated
Ready Or Not: NaNoWriMo is Coming – D. Thomas Minton
NaNoWriMo 2012 – The Daily Racewood
Prepping for NaNoWriMo – Where Landsquid Fear To Tread

Oh, and I got a very long email of notes from my reader, so thanks very much to him. I shall put it all away and come back to it when November is done.

In the meantime, heigh ho NaNoWriMo … Away!

Ed

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Limbering Up

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

