To Do List: 1/10/2012 – 6/10/2012

Morning all,

I realise I have not posted a second ‘To Do’ List, so here it is. First of all, some news on Ash: I have sent the final first draft over to my reader, and I’m waiting eagerly for his comments (yes, you know who you are, sir!). Following on from this I’ll be leaving Ash for a while to stew in its own juices.

I have already started work on Kindling, as the ideas are bouncing around so I’m eager to get them down on paper. This year I’ll be tying the writing of Kindling in with NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for those of you who don’t know), in the hope that it’ll push me to finish my first draft quickly.

I’ve made things a little easier for myself by aiming at a total of 30,000 words for this part of the book (yes, I know it’s not a complete novel, and off the official NaNoWriMo target by 20,000 words, but it’s my book and I’ll do what I want); and in addition I’ve planned Kindling to be divided, not by chapters, but into three sections of 10,000 words, each a complete narrative in itself. These will be:

The House on the Hill: or, What Happened to Jason and Rachel.
The Golem: or, What Happened to Colin.
A Third Unnamed Section: or, I’m Still Planning This, So Just Get Off My Back, Will Ya?

Needless to say, any of these sections may beg to run over 10,000 words. NaNoWriMo will just be a way of kicking myself into gear. At 30,000 words that’s about 1,153 words per day (I don’t work on Sundays). If I am for an average of 1,200-1,500 words per day, I should be fine.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

I may post up a couple of tasters as I go, just to let you know what’s going on. I’m quite excited by this next book, and looking forward to exploring different methods of storytelling (nonlinear, in particular).

I haven’t forgotten Flowers of the Field or (the long-awaited) The Christmas Cat. These will be going up as I have time.

All right, then. That’s me done. Is anyone else participating in NaNoWriMo this year? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Ta

Ed

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

