A Day in the Life 5

Which is to say, I don’t think I’d do very well as a professional, full-time author. My afternoon was reasonably used, ducking into a local cafe to write and catch up on some other work, ducking out again to take a walk when the weather brightened up a tad.

But, to be quite honest with all you fine folk, I didn’t enjoy it. I much prefer having my jobs to do, then writing between times when I have a few minutes. Maybe it’s because I’m not getting paid for my writing (yet), but I just can’t feel anything other than slightly guilty if I’m out and about instead of indoors supporting Deaf clients.

This is the hinterland of interpreting, I’m afraid, and maybe not the best example of a typical working day. As most of my work is in the colleges, and the colleges are winding slowly down for the summer, it was really a no-brainer as to whether or not I’d be all that busy today.

Ho hum. But I have had some interesting ideas, and I think I’ve cracked Colin’s next chapter. I’ve also managed to get a few other bits and bobs done, so it wasn’t a total waste.

The lesson for today? There’s nothing so constricting as total freedom!

Right, I’m off upstairs to find my non-existent student. See you when I finish.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

